Lewisham Labour selects The Minister Six

The all-woman shortlist of Labour's prospective Parliamentary candidates for Lewisham Deptford has been announced. And since whoever Labour selects to replace Dame Joan Ruddock as their representative is pretty much guaranteed to get the seat, the competition to become the Anointed One matters.

The list of six includes Brockley Councillor Vicky Foxcroft, who has done a decent job since she was elected in 2010, Whitefoot's Councillor Janet Daby, Lambeth Councillor Florence Nosegbe, Southwark Councillor Catherine McDonald, Mendora Ogbogbo and Paula Hirst.

The candidate will be chosen on May 18th.

Ex-Ladywell resident Paula Hirst is a Director of Urban Development and Regeneration for accountancy firm Mazars and was previously the Head of Sustainable Development at the Olympic Delivery Authority, where she "helped deliver jobs, business opportunities, and the first new urban park in London for 100 years."